UAE gratuity
calculator.
End-of-service gratuity worked from Article 51 of the Labour Law — every figure traced to its clause, the conventions the law leaves open stated on the page, and the monthly provision an employer should be booking. A second tab totals the whole final settlement around it.
Free · computed in your browser · sources and assumptions below · updated 8 Sep 2026
How is end-of-service gratuity calculated in the UAE?
Under Article 51 of Federal Decree-Law No. 33 of 2021, a full-time foreign worker who completes one year of continuous service is entitled to 21 days of basic wage for each of the first five years and 30 days of basic wage for each year after that, pro-rata for part years, capped at two years’ wage and paid within 14 days of the end of service. The Decree-Law does not reduce the figure when the employee resigns, and it does not state how a day’s wage is derived from a monthly wage — this calculator applies the ÷30 convention and says so.
The first tab calculates the gratuity from the Labour Law. The second is a worksheet: those figures are yours to enter, nothing there is worked out for you, and they differ from one company to the next. Both start filled with an invented example until you change them.
Basic only — allowances are excluded (Articles 1 and 51(5)).
UAE nationals come under the pension legislation (Article 51(1)).
Type, paste or pick — dd/mm/yyyy. Counted as a day worked.
The last day is worked too, so both ends count.
Not counted as service (Article 51(4)).
Optional. Freezes Decree-Law accrual at this date (Cabinet Resolution 96 of 2023).
The figures shown are an invented example until you change them. Nothing you type leaves your browser unless you ask for the statement below.
These figures are yours to enter — the page does not work them out. They sit in your contract, your payroll and your employer’s own policy, and they differ from one company to the next. The gratuity is carried across from the other tab. Anything this page does not name — overtime, a commission, a repatriation ticket, an asset not returned — goes in the free rows.
One thing worth knowing before you fill them in: a settlement mixes two different wage bases. Gratuity and unused leave are calculated on the basic wage; unpaid salary and any notice allowance are on the full wage, allowances included.
Salary earned but not yet paid, on the full wage — basic plus allowances (Article 1, “Wage”).
Encashed on the BASIC wage, not the full one — Article 29(9) and Cabinet Resolution 1 of 2022, Article 19(2). Article 29(1) sets the statutory floor at “not less than” 30 days a year, or 2 days a month between six months and a year, pro-rata for the final part-year — your contract may give more.
Where the EMPLOYER did not serve notice. Article 43(3) makes the allowance payable by whichever party failed to serve it — so if the employee left without serving notice the same amount runs the other way, and belongs under Deduct below. It is the full wage for the unserved part (43(4)); the period is 30 to 90 days under the contract, and shorter during probation (Article 9).
Article 25(1)(a) allows it against the wage with the employee’s written agreement, without interest, and within that Article’s monthly ceiling. Recovering a whole outstanding balance in one settlement is a matter for the loan agreement, not something Article 25 authorises by itself.
Only under a disciplinary regulation approved by the Ministry, and capped at 5% of the wage — Article 25(1)(f).
Nothing you type leaves your browser unless you ask for the statement below.
Book it monthly, not on the leaving day.
The liability grows every month the employee stays: 21/30 of a month’s basic wage a year for the first five years, a full month a year after that — 5.83% and 8.33% of basic wage a month, the same fractions Cabinet Resolution 96 of 2023 sets as savings-scheme contributions. Accrue it, and the year-end provision reconciles to the payroll list instead of surprising the accounts.
The statement puts this case on one page — the figure, the breakdown by article, the pay-by date and the monthly accrual — for the file. If you are the employee, the figure above is yours to use; no form needed.
We run payroll, the end-of-service provision and the year-end schedule as part of bookkeeping. Talk to us →
Indicative calculation · instant PDF · not legal or tax advice.
What this page assumes.
- A day’s wage
- The Decree-Law fixes the entitlement in days of basic wage and does not say how a day is derived from a monthly wage. This page uses monthly basic ÷ 30 and shows the figure at ÷ 30.4167 beside it.
- The ceiling
- Article 51(6) says “two years’ wage” — the defined term that includes allowances. The page applies 24 × last basic wage, the reading used in practice, and flags it when it bites.
- A day of service
- Both ends count here: an employee works their first day and their last day, so service is taken as the difference between the two dates plus one. The Decree-Law does not state the convention. Subtracting the dates alone gives one day less, and 364 days for a full calendar year — a difference worth checking against whichever basis your payroll uses.
- A year
- Years of service are counted as 365-day blocks on calendar days served, less unpaid absence. The difference from anniversary counting is a day or two.
- Amounts the employee owes
- The figure is the entitlement, not the cheque. Article 51(7) lets an employer deduct amounts due by law or under a court judgment, and Cabinet Resolution No. 1 of 2022, Article 29 sets out the cases — loans and overpayments, contributions to pension or insurance, debts under a court ruling, penalties under a disciplinary regulation approved by the Ministry, and the cost of damage the employee caused — the last two only where the Decree-Law’s own procedures were followed and not more than three months have lapsed since the amount fell due, unless otherwise agreed (Cabinet Resolution 1 of 2022, Article 29(2)). Those turn on documents this page cannot see, so it states the right rather than netting off a number you would have to guess.
- The settlement tab
- Only the gratuity is calculated. Unpaid salary, unused leave, notice, loans, penalties and the free rows are figures the visitor enters, because they turn on a contract, a payroll run and a ledger this page cannot see. The tab adds them up and applies the signs; it does not check them, and what a settlement contains varies from one company to the next.
- Which wage
- Two bases run through a settlement, and mixing them is the common error. Gratuity and unused leave are computed on the BASIC wage (Articles 51(2) and 29(9) of Cabinet Resolution 1 of 2022); unpaid salary and pay in lieu of notice run on the FULL wage as defined in Article 1 and required by Article 43(4).
- Scope
- Employers under the federal Labour Law, mainland and free zones. DIFC and ADGM have their own employment laws. UAE nationals come under the pension legislation.
Read the text yourself.
- Federal Decree-Law No. 33 of 2021 — Articles 1, 25, 29, 43, 51, 52 and 53 (MOHRE consolidated text) ↗
- Cabinet Resolution No. 1 of 2022 — Articles 19, 29 and 30 (Executive Regulation) ↗
- Cabinet Resolution No. 96 of 2023 — Articles 5(3) and 6 (alternative end-of-service scheme) ↗
- The Official Portal of the UAE Government — end of service benefits in the private sector ↗
The Ministry’s English texts state that they are not official translations; the Arabic texts govern. This page is general information on published law, not advice on any person’s position.